Back at home in the hub

Today marks the end of my spring break. While I’m sad about it ending, and would rather be on break then have to go back to work, I am very happy to be back in the city I do belong in.

Ever since I was a little kid, I’ve always loved being in the city of Boston. I love getting to explore the city, learn the history of it, and learn the character of the city. I was always a happy kid when it came time for Harvard to host Yale, at the stadium for The Game, because it meant my dad, a Harvard alumnus, would take the family up to Cambridge and Boston. Or any chance we had to go to the Red Sox games at Fenway, or to the aquarium or the science museum, or just walking with family in the North End, I was happy to take it. I always had a sense of sincere happiness and excitement whenever I had a chance to come here.

So when it came time to choose a college, I wanted to go to school in Boston. I gave equal thought to every school I looked at, but I always wanted to go to a school in or near Boston, not named Boston College of course. When the opportunity came to go to Boston University, I took it almost immediately. And the biggest selling point for me was the location of the school, right in the heart of the city.

Now, every time I return to campus, and when I come back to this city, it does feel sorta like I’m coming home. When I see the skyline of the city, and see the flashing CITGO Sign, I feel like I’m back where I belong. That’s why it tops my list of happy things tonight.

20140316-232424.jpg

7 thoughts on “Back at home in the hub

  1. Pingback: A 2014 Wrap-Up | 100 Happy Days of Chris

  2. Pingback: Inspiration in Music | 100 Happy Days of Chris

  3. Pingback: Back in Beantown, Back in the Booth | 100 Happy Days of Chris

  4. Pingback: Red Sox Woes | 100 Happy Days of Chris

Leave a Reply

