Late Night Skiing

After a full day of going to Mass, watching football, and having great food, when the sun went down me and my dad went to Ski Sundown in New Hartford for a night of skiing. Wait huh? Night skiing? Yes, why do you think they chose the name of the ski place?

I’ve been skiing since I was about 5 years old. I’ve fallen, ran into trees, and had my share of embarrassing moments. I’ve also gotten pretty good. I can handle myself on some pretty difficult slopes, and I can take on many difficult elements, from snow falling to sleet to warm sun that makes the snow slushy. I’ve skied at places in Vermont, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, and Connecticut, with Ski Sundown being the one I frequent most. It’s a good place to learn how to ski. There are enough trails for the experienced skiers, now that they added a new double black diamond trail that is worthy of that ranking.

I’ve skied there in the mornings, afternoons, and early evenings just after the sun went down. I’ve never been skiing there late into the night. They’ve got lights up and down the mountain that allow them to keep the mountain open until 10 PM. So my verdict on late night skiing: It’s a great time. Late nights, especially on school nights mean that the crowds are very small, so there are no lines to get on the lift which means more skiing actually happens. Also, the snow was good, especially after they did the evening grooming of the mountain. It was cold, but not painfully so. All in all, it was very enjoyable. I would do it again!

2015/01/img_4923.jpg

One thought on “Late Night Skiing

  1. Pingback: Pretty Snowfall | 100 Happy Days of Chris

Leave a Reply

