Jedi Wisdom, learn it I must

Spoiler Alert! If you haven’t seen the Star Wars movies, I would advise you not to read this post until you do. I don’t know why you wouldn’t have watched some masterpiece movies of that level, but if you haven’t, spoilers ahead you have been warned of.

No, I don’t actually talk that way. Nor am I two feet tall or a Jedi. Having said that, I love Star Wars. I love the characters, the music, the story, the effects, the light sabers, the star ships, the everything. Ok, except Jar Jar Binks, the love banter between Anakin and Padmè in Episodes 2 and 3 (WORST DIALOGUE EVER!!), and the generally poor performance given by Hayden Christiansen as Anakin in 2 and 3. Other than those things, the Star Wars movie saga is the greatest movie saga ever created.

Oh, before I write more, I need to note that while I love the Star Wars movies, I’ve never read any of the extended universe, I’ve not played the majority of the video games, and I’m not on the level of major Star Wars fanboy that people like these are. I just enjoy the films for what they are, entertaining movies that deserve ranking among the greatest ever made. (The originals that is)

While Obi Wan Kenobi is my favorite character in the whole saga, the character who struck me recently is Yoda, the little green Jedi Master who popularized the object subject verb speaking format, as opposed to the English language’s proper format, subject verb object. Yoda is the oldest, wisest, and most powerful of all the Jedi. He taught almost every Jedi the ways of the order for hundreds of years, he was an excellent swordsman, shown by this fight against Count Dooku and this fight against Darth Sidious. After the events of the prequel trilogy decimate the Jedi and leave them weak in the face of the newly crowned Emperor and his right hand man, Darth Vader, Yoda goes into exile on a remote swamp planet called Dagobah. When Luke Skywalker arrives on Dagobah, Yoda immediately humbles him with some wisdom and knowledge that far surpasses anything Luke knows or expects.

There’s one line that hits home the most for me. When Luke first realizes who he’s talking to, Yoda immediately rebukes Luke’s outlook, saying “This one I have watched a long time. (Referring to Luke) All his life he has looked away… To the horizon, to the future. Never on where he was; what he was doing.” I watched that clip, which you can see here, and thought “Oh right… Thanks Yoda…” I’ve had a number of things change very quickly in my life recently, and I’ve not done a good job of appreciating where I am or focusing on the job I have at hand. I’m a college student, and I’m here to study and learn first and foremost. I need to keep reminding myself of that. My future will not happen by my worrying about it too much or looking to the horizon the way that Luke did. Thank you George Lucas, I mean Frank Oz, I mean Yoda for that great reminder. I’ll make a point to stick to that point.

IMG_0064

IMG_0065

5 thoughts on “Jedi Wisdom, learn it I must

  1. Pingback: Excuse my Star Wars Fanboying | 100 Happy Days of Chris

  2. Pingback: Star Wars: OPEN IN THEATRES TODAY PLEASE!? | 100 Happy Days of Chris

  3. Pingback: Why I LOVE The Force Awakens | Chris's Corner

  4. Pingback: Rogue One: I Like It!  | Chris's Corner

  5. Pingback: Reynolds and Fisher: Tragic Ends for Icons | Chris's Corner

Leave a Reply

