Lenten Hiatus

Hey folks. So if you haven’t noticed, I’ve not been posting on here for a while. Why? Well there’s a lot of chaos in my head. It’s hard for me to sort out my head in many ways. Also, I feel very dry. Sorta separate from God, the sorta spiritual dryness that Mother Theresa spoke of experiencing. My posts always revolve around some cool sports thing, or some person I get to meet, or something of that sort, but I don’t feel like I’m making a huge stride forward. I’m just sorta stuck. And I don’t feel as though I can provide good content on this blog now. Well I’ve got a very good opportunity to clear up and get going in the right path soon: Lent. It’s the time of year where we take a chance to pray, reflect, make sacrifices, and offer ourselves up for God’s work. The season ends on Easter, the day of Jesus’ resurrection. I have a weird feeling about this Lent. As if something is gonna click for me that I’ve been waiting and looking for that will free me up and get me moving in the right direction again.

Don’t get me wrong, there are plenty of really good things in my life now. I’ve got good friends, a chance to learn at a good school, opportunities for fun jobs, and many other good things. And the basics, like a roof over my head and food. The problem is my mindset over the last few weeks. In large part, I’ve not gotten to see or talk to some of my best friends recently. One’s headed out to boot camp soon, one’s life is getting busy and I don’t get to see her as much, and one has a story way too complicated to tell here. I’m adjusting to not seeing or hearing from these people, and I miss them. I’ve been stuck in neutral for the last few weeks, and I’m looking for a good trigger to get me going. I think Lent might be the best thing for me. I’ve found it rejuvenating in the past. The Lents I’ve spent here at BU have done wonders for me, with last year being probably the best one for me. I got more involved in the Catholic community on my campus, learned more about being a good friend than I had most other places, and got closer to God than I have ever been. It didn’t hurt that I did a good job in my classes and had a clear definition of my goals in the classroom, which I admit I’ve gotten away from and need to get back to.

So I’m gonna use the Lenten season to get on track. This means I won’t be writing on here for a while, probably not until at least Easter. Hopefully I’ll be back in good form and in the right direction after the season. Lent begins this coming Wednesday. I know what I’m doing for my Lenten observances this year.

A. A dating fast. I’m still not over my recent breakup and I still have things to sort out there. I’m looking forward to the chance to lighten my head after a tough time that has damaged one of the best friendships I’ve had really at any point in my memory.

B. No drinks but water. Part of my mental state might me that I’ve not done the best job of treating myself well physically. I have been working out, which is good. But I’ve not been eating or drinking that well recently. Lots of soda, sugary stuff, and unhealthy food and drinks. Maybe a physical reset would be good for me.

C. Daily Scripture Readings. This seems to be a sort of obvious one. If I want to be working towards holiness, it seems appropriate to read the tales of holy men and women myself, and where would I find the best cases of holy men and women? The Bible of course. I don’t have an exact plan of how I’ll do that but I’ve got a few possibilities.

When I created this blog back in March of last year, the idea was to track my growth in happiness over 100 days. I did so successfully. I decided to revisit the challenge again in November, and I’m happy that I made that choice. But now I need to get out of neutral. Maybe Lent can help me get there and I can have a lent that produces the way last one did, hopefully better though. Last Easter was a beautiful time for me. And I need to rediscover that unbridled joy and bliss that I’ve been missing. Until Easter, I hope you all find goodness and joy in your lives and may God bless all of you!

4 thoughts on “Lenten Hiatus

  1. Pingback: Lenten Journey | 100 Happy Days of Chris

  2. Pingback: So what is this place anyway? | 100 Happy Days of Chris

  3. Pingback: I’m Tired | 100 Happy Days of Chris

  4. Pingback: Discernment: Summer’s Contributions | 100 Happy Days of Chris

Leave a Reply

