Lenten Journey

Hello people, how have you all been doing? It’s been a while since I’ve written anything here, and it’s been an interesting adventure for me since I took a hiatus from blogging. So here’s a brief wrap up of the three biggest things that’ve happened to me since last I wrote here. 

1. Jobs.

When last I wrote, I was getting more involved in my student radio station, WTBU: The Beat of Boston University. I’m still hosting my own show, the JVC Sports Block on Monday nights from 6-8 pm, and yes we will be broadcasting this Monday. That show is one of the highlights of my week. I get to talk about all different sports related things with some great friends in James and Vanessa, my cohosts, and we get quality experience running a radio program. We’ve done segments with James calling in from the Gahden (that’s how we refer to the TD Garden, where the Celtics, Bruins, and apparently BU Terriers play), guest analysts, I’ve hosted the show solo, and we always have fun lively discussions. It’s a blessing to do the show with them. WTBU has also given me some sweet field broadcasting gigs. As I’ve written before, I got to broadcast the Beanpot from the Gahden, and loved every second of it. I got to broadcast the semi-final round of the Women’s Hockey East Tournament in Hyannis, and do staff work for the championship game. I might be able to call the NCAA Men’s Frozen Four game for WTBU, but time will tell and there are very talented people who can fill the job admirably from our collection of people. I’ve been a PA Announcer, broadcasted games, and had a marvelous time with it all. Best sports job thing going for me though, I have a summer internship! I recently was hired to work for the Brewster Whitecaps, a team in the Cape Cod Baseball League, the oldest amateur baseball league in the nation. It’s a college all star league that has produced several major league players, including stars like Jacoby Ellsbury, Kevin Youkillis, Cole Hammels, Ryan Braun, Sean Casey, potential Baseball Hall of Famer Jeff Bagwell, and current Red Sox Manager John Farrell. So that’s pretty sweet! I’m the team’s journalist, so basically the job I had for the BU Men’s Basketball Team this year, I’ll have for the Whitecaps for the summer. I’m so excited for this job. So sports and broadcasting has been marvelous!!!

  

2. Fresh Mentality.

In part, I took my hiatus from blogging because I felt my writing got stale and kinda uninteresting. I basically wrote of the same things over and over again. Why’d it get so stale? I didn’t get out of my bubble as much as I wanted, I didn’t get to be as active as I wanted, and I wasn’t in the greatest of mental states at the time. I needed to get grounded again. In part, my friendships have changed a bit, and I’ve struggled to adjust to that, especially since I’ve not spoken to my best friend in over two months. I still miss my friend, but I’ve figured out how to handle my head here: Don’t get down, I’ve got too many cool things to do and awesome people to meet to bog myself down with things I strictly speaking have no control over. I’d still like to catch up and try to rebuild a good friendship there, but I don’t need to rack my mind over it all the time. I need to keep finding little things to keep me happy and keep growing. As long as I keep myself active, I’ll be good. There’s plenty in my life to be happy about, so I can’t get weighed down by things that aren’t going too well. Again, I still would like a chance to fix that friendship and work on others, but I won’t break my head over this one now. I’ve got my mentality back in a good place. 

  

3. My Relationship With God.

I had a crazy sense of spiritual dryness at the start of Lent. I really don’t like feeling far from God. It’s disconcerting, disorienting, and unpleasant. But that’s what I had to work with early in Lent. I picked up some good Bible plans, stayed with a Bible Study I’ve been involved with for a while, and I certainly don’t feel as dry now. I feel closer to God, and I’m in a much better position with my faith. And with Holy Week upon us, I’m looking forward to more chances to grow closer to God. I’m still doing some discernment work, but I do feel more confident that whatever I do, I can bring God into my work, whatever that work happens to be. 

  

Good things happened to me over Lent, and I’m very excited to see what happens over the next week. Happy Holy Week everyone! 

One thought on “Lenten Journey

  1. Pingback: Discernment: Summer’s Contributions | 100 Happy Days of Chris

Leave a Reply

