High School Musicals

No, I never did High School Musical and I’m happy I didn’t, I don’t like that show. I’m writing this as a sincere congratulations to my friends at Northwest Catholic High School who put up an apparently tremendously successful run of Once On This Island. I’ve not seen that show before but from everything I’ve heard about it, it’s not an easy show to do at all, and NWC deserves a ton of credit for pulling off an excellent run. 

Unfortunately, as mentioned above, I did not actually see this run and j can’t see the performance they have today at 2 pm at the Rice Auditorium at NWC in West Hartford CT. It’s the first year I’ve either not seen or been in since the school did Annie all the way back in 2005. Wow that’s a long time. 

I’ve mentioned on this blog before how much I enjoy performances. Well this group was most responsible for my love of shows. In my time at NWC, I did every musical, 3 of the 4 main stage plays, and a grand total of 12 shows with the Dramateurs in my 4 years at the school. It helped define my time at the school and helped craft my personality as it is today. The best show I did there wasn’t my junior year when we did 42nd Street. My best single performance was my senior year when I played Bert Bratt in How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying. I somehow got an award named after me for the last show. Sweet! I hope this year’s winner of the Chris Lynch Dramateur Award truly does what he loves and loves what he does. 

I was reminded of all this when I woke up and saw this from my friend Susie, who was appreciating her stage manager successor, Michael.  

 

I couldn’t help but think about my best memories on stage with the Dramateurs and be amazed that it’s been 3 years since I was on that stage. So many times, from hanging with these goofball guys my first year in Godspell, 

    

to the weird but excellent performance of Little Shop of Horrors,  

   

to the highlight of my time here, 42nd Street,  

       

and finally, wrapping it all up with How To Succeed.  

      

I loved these moments, these people, and everything that goes along with it all. I hope the people there now will appreciate how amazing experience whole thing is. Mrs. Avery was spot on in describing theatre as ephemeral. The experiences will fade and will end, but the memories will last a lifetime. To end this in true Dramateurs fashion, thank you Mrs. Avery and Miss Kate for giving me an amazing venue in which to grow, perform, have fun, and learn about both the art of doing a show and the art of living fully. I hope the people at NWC today understand how awesome a chance they have there. 

Break a leg in your show today! Oh and actually get things done in strike without people just standing idly by. 

5 thoughts on “High School Musicals

  1. Pingback: The Review Is In | 100 Happy Days of Chris

  2. Pingback: Hamilton: A Must-See Show! | 100 Happy Days of Chris

  3. Pingback: The Review Is In | Chris's Corner

  4. Pingback: Out of Musical Retirement | Chris's Corner

Leave a Reply

