Summer Adventures

So I’ve not written on here in a while. There’s a good reason for that, I’ve had very little free time and not a ton of energy! It’s been a real adventure this summer, and I feel it’s time I take a moment to recount how the ride has been so far. For context, this is what I said when the summer began about what I could expect and look for from the Cape, at least generally. 

First off, my two jobs have been a wonderful time. I work in the kitchen of Cape Cod Sea Camps, a summer camp right along the beach of Cape Cod Bay. There’s a resident camp, where kids live in cabins for weeks of the summer, and a resident camp, where more local kids spend their mornings and afternoons doing cool and fun things like sailing, play sports, and other usual camp things. I may work at a summer camp, but this is a kitchen job. I’m up early every work day; usually 5 AM to be ready for a 6 AM shift. I set up meals, serve hungry kids and counselors, clean up the kitchen after the meal, help any small projects that need work, set up the line for the next meal, serve it, and clean that meal up. It’s real work, but really quite satisfying. I serve kids, do what I can to get them smiling, and I feel satisfied at the end of my shift that I’ve accomplished something. 

But to be honest, the real reason I’m here is for my other job. I am the Journalist intern for the Brewster Whitecaps Baseball Team. I write the game stories, interview the players and coaching staff, manage the Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram pages of the team, and help manage the website.  Needless to say, I have absolutely LOVED this job to this point. It’s made better by the privilege to cover some excellent players, being on Cape Cod, and working with some other wonderful interns. It is my dream to do something like this for a profession, so it’s a great way to get some experience as a writer and an interviewer. I’ll still need to get better, but I have learned quite a bit since I started doing this sort of thing in November. 

I’ve had a good amount of down time too. I’ve had enough time to hang out at the pool, go out in a kayak or a paddle board, and just take a breather from what is a tiring schedule. It’s been difficult to have to fill some of my free time with the Red Sox this season, given how bad it has been. It is made up for in a big way by Pedro Martinez, one of my favorite athletes of all time, being inducted into the Hall of Fame and getting his uniform number retired. I managed to get tickets to his number retirement game! Needless to say I am crazy excited about this and I will enjoy a unique night at Fenway. It’ll add a nice memory to the expanding list of memories I’ve already experienced there. I do have an extra ticket, so I have to find someone who would like to use it. 

All in all, I’d say this has been an excellent summer. Worth all my time and energy, and plenty of fun along the way. There’s a week left in the regular season of the Cape League, and then the playoffs! And 3 weeks total left of camp. I’ll make sure to enjoy the rest of my time down here on the Cape!

17 thoughts on “Summer Adventures

  1. Pingback: Discernment: Summer’s Contributions | 100 Happy Days of Chris

Leave a Reply

